Last night, someone left this creepy, and strange, suicide note on my blog:
Here is the text of the comment:
IP Address: 71.34.251.220
Name: matt
Email Address: froggy@blackfive.com
URL:
Comments:
I am a former Navy Seal. I behaved dishonorably in a battle involving a pajamas media blog called protein wisdom.
my comrades have died to protect this country. by propagating a lie, i dishonor their memories.
i must die too.
peace, fellow pajamas media members.
peace.
sincerely,
matthew heidt
Needless to say, I was disturbed when I saw this. And concerned for this person, though posting a note to the member blogs of Pajamas Media seemed strange. And a "battle" against a blog? What was that about?
As it turns out, Matthew Heidt is a blogger at Black Five and Froggy Ruminations. By all accounts, he is proud of his work as a Navy SEAL, and a member of the MILBlogs:
Navy SEAL corpsman for 10 years active duty and 4 years Reserve.
Nothing on his blogs suggested he was depressed, or for that matter, in a fight against Protein Wisdom or anyone else.
This morning, I discovered I had been Frisched:
A few weeks ago, blogger Jeff Goldstein outed an unhinged nutball, former University of Arizona lecturer in psychology Deborah Frisch, who left vile comments about Goldstein and his son at his site, Protein Wisdom. The case received some mainstream media attention --faulty, at that--after Frisch resigned. Most people have moved on. But not Frisch. She relocated to Eugene, Oregon, and the harassment of Jeff and his family continues.
Patterico is tracking the latest vile comments confirmed from Frisch's IP address: 71.34.251.220. (Comment originally left at Ace's site, but redacted. Patterico has the screenshot.)
Based on the access logs, she came to my blog via Pajamas Media at 23:02:55. She didn't do much reading -- at 23:03:44 she went to "Monopoly on violence -- again" post and left her creepy suicide note.
Deb Frisch has graced my blog once before, commenting at this post:
IP Address: 71.34.252.228
Name: southwestpaw
Email Address: dfrisch@pobox.com
URL: http://www.debfrisch.com
Comments:
Yikes. Even Count Cockula admits my crime was a bad joke, not a threat. And the Auntie Moonbat bit was written by Jeff or one of his anklebiters, not me. I take full responsibility for the Ramsey line.
What I said was: I wouldn't care if someone Ramseyed your kid.
Is that really the most tasteless, vulgar, rude, nasty joke ever to be posted in the bowels (i.e., comments section) of the blogosphere?
Both IP addresses are hers, according to Patterico:
Similar comments were published on Jeff Goldstein's site, in this thread. The comments used this e-mail address: cunt@proteinwisdom.cum.
They were left from the same Qwest IP address as the comment on Ace's: 71.34.251.220 - again, tracing back to Frisch's new hometown of Eugene, Oregon. [UPDATE: Again, this is Frisch's IP address.]
Frisch previously left comments on my site, Ace's site, and Jeff's site using a slightly different Qwest IP address that traced back to Eugene, Oregon. That previous Frisch IP address was Qwest IP address 71.34.252.228, which also traces to Eugene, Oregon
Sorry about the language.
Other bloggers have been deleting her comments, but I don't delete comments from my blog (unless asked by the author, and for a good reason), so my postings will remain.
Now I'm not sure if other Pajamas Media members go the same suicide note, or if it was just me. Maybe she thinks I'm a soft touch, and more likely to respond to a suicide note than to a posting filled with profanities. She's probably right on that -- I ignore bad language.
In any case, she's up to her old tricks. Finding conservative bloggers and trying to embarrass and humiliate them.
But let's be clear -- writing a suicide note and signing someone else's name to it is a form of harassment. I've contacted Matthew Heidt, but I haven't heard back yet. It's still early morning in California. I wonder just what a Navy SEAL would do in this situation. She says he has dishonoured the memories of his fallen comrades, and then signed his name to that statement. I would never bait a Navy SEAL that way. Actually, I would never bait a Navy SEAL in any way.
Oh, and by the way Deb, SEAL is always capitalized. It is an acronym for "Sea, Air, Land". Even I know that. No SEAL would ever spell it "Seal".
Updates as I get them.
[Welcome back, Hot Air readers. Feel free to poke around, and click the "digg it" button for stories that you like.]
Question: Should I ban her?
Update #1: If you are wondering why Matthew Heidt was targetted, know it was not random:
We all know that lefty trolls can be a real inconvenience at times, but a very special troll named Deborah Frisch has taken trolling down a very dark road. Jeff Goldstein is the very insightful conservative blogger who writes at Protein Wisdom and Dr. Frisch (did I mention she's a psych[o] professor at the University of Arizona?) has repeatedly and quite disturbing levied DEATH THREATS against Jeff's 2 year old child.
I post this in the hopes that any readers in the law enforcement community or at the University of Arizona will take the opportunity to click on over and see if they can be of assistance.
<snip>
I just spoke to a representative of the U of AZ Psychology Department and confirmed that Dr. Frisch is a faculty member at the school. I asked to file a formal complaint and gave my contact info and am awaiting a call from the Department Head, Al Kazniak. If you would like to do the same here is the contact information...
That tip-off to her (now former) employers helped seal Frisch's fate. And she's got Heidt in her crosshairs:
The real person I want to litigate against is Froggy at Blackfive who started propagating the lie that I'd threatened Count Cockula's tyke. For a while, he posted my home address in Tucson until I emailed another wingnut named Ace of Spades to ask him to ask phroggy to take it down.
The nutty rightwing military blog says:
Froggy is 14 year Navy SEAL corpsman, Matthew Heidt. Now in the Reserve, Froggy is a Real Estate Investor/Property Manager.
Anyone know where Mr. Heidt resides?
How big a pension do Navy SEALs get? This could be fun!
Suicide is fun?
The odd thing is that this behaviour is hardly going to help her case should she ever get this to civil court.
Here's the kicker. She blames Matt back on July 31 for her troubles. She wants to get back at him. And the best she has come up with is to post a weird and easily spotted fake suicide note on an obscure Canadian blog?
Update #2: I've been spotted!

So Deb Frisch is checking out the traffic from her blog's admin screen. Curious about her IP address and whatnot?

There's that 71.34.251 IP prefix in Oregon. In case there was any doubt. And she is actually in Eugene, Oregon, according to this entry in ORBlogs.
Update #3: Deb Frisch comments on the allegation of being the master of the Matthew Heidt sockpuppet:
I've gone on enough about the trauma i suffered 14 years ago vis-a-vis my day job that landed me where I am today. I can't talk about the hombre from Colorado with whom i have unfinished legal business.
I do not plan to sit at my computer all day long today. i need to get some exercise. but i do want to call attention to an allegation being made by cato and other players in the softporn/dungeons and dragons patterico, ace of spades, blackfive, michelle malkin, 42nd street of the blogosphere. [ed note: I don't earn a mention. I told you I was obscure.]
i have been alleged to have sockpuppeted matthew heidt, a blogger named froggy at blackfive.
<snip>
i have no comment on the allegation of sockpuppeting at the present time, but i will cop to all the word warrior comments at blackfive, as far as i know.
No comment at the present time? Well, don't that beat all.
Update #4: On my post where I invite readers to voice their opinion on whether Deb Frisch should be banned from commenting on this blog, Deb Frisch adds her own two cents:
Here's the text of the comment:
IP Address: 71.34.251.220
Name: word warrior
Email Address: dfrisch@pobox.com
URL: http://www.debfrisch.com
Comments:
it's a tough call. i'd say no, wait and see what happens.
but heck. what do i know?
thanx 4 the publicity, hombre!
DF
Um, you're welcome. And there's that pesky IP address again. I supposed it's safe to say there is no doubt about who was behind the Matthew Heidt sockpuppet.
Strange way to get attention, I have to say. But some people, attention is always desirable, whatever the reason.